News

OWL Delays Chinese Games For Day of Mourning

Aaron Alford  | 
OWL

Chinese OWL matches will be delayed 24hours this weekend. (Photo courtesy Blizzard)

The Overwatch League has delayed the Chinese games for OWL Week Nine by 24 hours due to a National Day of Mourning in China which has been declared for April 4th. The Chinese Day of Mourning is meant to recognize those harmed or affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. The matches which were originally scheduled for Saturday and Sunday, will now take place on Sunday, April 5th and Monday, April 6th.

The updated schedule for the Chinese games is as follows:

  • Shanghai Dragons will play against the Hangzhou Spark on Sunday at 4 P.M China time (4 A.M. EST).
  • The Chengdu Hunters will then play against the Guangzhou Charge on Sunday at 6 P.M. China time (6 A.M. EST).
  • The Chengdu Hunters will play against the Shanghai Dragons on Monday at 4 P.M China time (4 A.M. EST),
  • The Guangzhou Charge will play against the Hangzhou Spark on Monday at 6 P.M. China time (6 A.M. EST).

The OWL Week 9 North American matches remain unchanged, with three matches scheduled for Saturday afternoon starting at 4 P.M. EST and three matches scheduled for Sunday also starting at 4 P.M. EST.

As usual, you can tune into this weekend’s OWL matches on the Overwatch League YouTube Channel.

Aaron Alford
Aaron Alford
Aaron is a 25 year old esports journalist who has worked with dotesports.com, upcomer.com, qrank.gg, among others. Aaron completed a Master's degree in Communication from the University of Dayton in 2018 (Go Flyers). Aaron has also worked as a national circuit debate coach and communication manager for emerging technology companies.