news

Apex Legends, Twitch Rivals Partner for $200,000 Tournament

Laura Byrne | 
Apex Legends and Twitch Rivals will pit 48 of the most well-known streamers against one another to battle it out for $200,000 in prizes.

Apex Legends and Twitch Rivals will pit 48 of the most well-known streamers against one another to battle it out for $200,000 in prizes.

Twitch has announced a partnership with Respawn Entertainment for the Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Challenge. The tournament will see 48 of the most well-known streamers battle it out for $200,000 in prizes.

The tournament will be split between Europe and North America, with $100,000 available in prize money to the streamers from each region. The event will not follow a traditional esports structure. Instead of the teams competing against one another, they will all queue separately and compete against random players in an attempt to earn kills and wins.

The event takes place over two days, February 12th and February 19th. The EU half of the challenge will kick off at 9 AM PT/12 PM EST on February 12th and will be followed by the NA portion at 1 PM PT/4 PM EST.

Tournament Format

  • Eight teams of three players per Region (EU & NA)
  • Teams will queue separately online and attempt to earn as many points as possible within a 4-hour time window
  • Teams will earn points based on the following criteria:
    • Wins = 5 points
    • Kills = 1 point

Notable Players

While not all participating streamers have been announced yet, the following big names will be competing:

  • DrDisrespect
  • Shroud
  • TSM_Myth
  • Sacriel
  • DisguisedToast
  • RealKraftyy

You can watch the event on https://www.twitch.tv/twitchrivals or head directly to the channel of any streamer who’s competing in the event.

Share
Laura Byrne
Laura has been battling on Summoners Rift since 2015. If she not there, then you will find her questing in Azeroth. She is also a keen traveler and loves exploring new countries.
Follow me
Follow Us
logo